It’s bell ringing day!

 

IMG_3985

There’s a widespread tradition amongst cancer treatment centres including the Cross Cancer Institute in Edmonton where the following poem is posted on the wall of the waiting area outside each radiation treatment unit.


Ring Out

Ring this bell

Three times well

It’s toll to clearly say,

 

My treatment’s done

This course is run

And I am on my way!

 

Today, after 30 treatments over the past 6 weeks, it was finally my turn to ring the bell! I woke at 5:30 a.m. filled with anticipation and the morning crawled by as I waited for one o’clock to arrive. Now that it’s over, it’s hard to put how I feel into words! Perhaps it hasn’t really sunk in yet. Maybe it will seem more real when I board a plane for Vancouver tomorrow instead of heading back to the Cross!

I’ve been told not to expect the side effects to peak for another two weeks and there will be follow-up appointments in the future, of course, but this race has been run. Praise God!

Today was a bit anticlimactic in that, immediately after ringing the bell, I had to go upstairs for a CT scan to see what’s happened to my other cancer in the six months since it was last looked at but I’ve crossed one finish line. I’ve climbed that mountain and I’ve rung the bell! Now it’s time to move on!

IMG_3984

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jul 22, 2014 @ 17:49:58

    Cheering you on!

    Reply

  2. Jan Bergseth
    Jul 22, 2014 @ 22:26:50

    HAPPY, HAPPY, HAPPY NEWS!

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Jul 22, 2014 @ 23:38:33

    Happy Dance!

    Reply

  4. hunterhedeman
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 00:42:07

    joy

    Reply

  5. crazyanneca
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 14:11:24

    I tried to give you a congratulations messages earlier but I lost the WiFi connection. You look really good Elaine and I pray the other cancer hasn’t done much. God Speed you in all your travels.

    Reply

  6. Denise Hardon
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 15:19:17

    I saw those bells yesterday when I was there. Congratulations and Best Wishes :)

    Reply

  7. joyce d
    Jul 24, 2014 @ 10:46:18

    congrats!!!!

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 601 other followers

