One year later…

It’s hard to believe that a whole year has passed since I heard the fateful news. 365 days of living with cancer have gone by already!

The first days were the scariest when we didn’t yet know what kind of cancer it was and the process of finding out seemed ever so slow. Eventually, we learned that I have neuroendocrine tumours, a very slow growing chronic cancer that often responds well to treatment, and we breathed a small sigh of relief.

There have been dark and disappointing days, especially the day in late March when we learned that I had a second, completely unrelated cancer. That led to seven hours of surgery and six weeks of radiation. There’s still plenty of healing to be done and some long term repercussions but for the most part, I think we’ve put the second cancer behind us and I’ll soon resume treatment for the first one.

Though we’ve spent a lot of time away from home, our gypsy tendencies have been severely curtailed this year.  We’ve spent many days on the road driving back and forth to Edmonton for tests, scans, biopsies and treatments but we haven’t been outside Canada at all. We did renew our passports though and we opted for Canada’s new ten year ones in hopes that my wandering days aren’t over yet.

I often wonder if there will ever be a day when it doesn’t cross my mind that I have cancer. It would be so easy to feel sorry for myself and to focus on the negatives but I refuse to do that! Cancer has changed our lives significantly and we continue to live with lots of unknowns but life goes on and we have much to be thankful for.

I’m ever so thankful for my loving husband who has been by my side every step of the way patiently chauffeuring me to appointments, meeting with doctors and sharing the good days and the bad. We’ve also been absolutely overwhelmed by the prayerful support we’ve received from around the world. I know that that has sustained me through the ups and downs of the past year and that it will continue to do so in the days that lie ahead.

So now, as I move ahead into my second year of life with cancer, completely cognizant of the fact that many people don’t get that privilege, I’m determined to continue living life to the fullest!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 21:02:57

    Wonder woman!

    Reply

  2. Glenys Rott
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 21:04:24

    Awesome testimony! Still praying and believing you will be totally cancer-free with NO returns!
    Love to you both.

    Reply

  3. on thehomefrontandbeyond
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 03:58:59

    I know that all your thoughts and feelings, triumphs and heartbreaks cannot be described fully- but as Glenys said your testimonial is awesome and gives us all hope–we are in your corner

    Reply

    • edebock
      Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:01:37

      Yes, as a fellow writer you understand the difficulty of putting some things into words but I find that attempting to really helps me process them. Thank you for being one of my loyal supporters!

      Reply

  4. Silver Screenings
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 17:18:26

    I hope there are many more opportunities to use that new 10-year passport! :)

    Reply

  5. Anonymous
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 15:42:28

    Take care and keep up your spirits…you have impressed me with your faith, honesty and determination.

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 603 other followers

