Happy New Year!

In the teaching profession, our year always began at the end of August or the beginning of September so New Years didn’t mean very much to me but this year is different.  Today is truly a day of reflecting on a wonderful year just passed and looking forward to the one ahead with anticipation.

Looking back, we reflect on our retirement at the end of June and all the celebrations and accolades that went along with that.  We spent lots of quality time with family in 2007 including a DeBock family reunion in August.  This was also the year that I learned to operate a combine and helped my friend, Louis, with harvest.  What a great time that was!  It was also during harvest that we learned that we’re going to be grandparents in the coming year as our daughter, Melaina, is expecting a baby boy in May!  Though we’ll be far away when he arrives, we’re absolutely delighted!

As I look ahead, I’m reminded of the exhilaration I experienced as a little girl whenever I had the opportunity to be the first to leave my footprints on an area of fresh fallen snow.  A new year – a new beginning.  How exciting!

Of course, we look forward to our time in Japan with excitement and anticipation and wonder that this dream we’ve had for so long is really coming true.  As I question what else the new year might hold, I’m reminded of a line from a song that says “I don’t know what my future holds, but I know who holds my future” and I am secure in that knowledge.

May 2008 be a wonderful year for you and yours!

One thought on “Happy New Year!

  1. That song line was a great reminder for me Marmee! As many can imagine, I also have a lot of wonder, and even a bit of fear, about all that is to come for me in this coming year as I wait for the arrival of this baby boy, so its great to remember that there is someone much bigger than me who’s looking out for us!

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

