Endings

The busy weekend is over and all three performances of Arsenic and Old Lace went very well.  As always when a play comes to an end, there are feelings of exhilaration and relief.  Then exhaustion settles in and there’s also a bit of a letdown.  The cast and crew spend a great many hours together in the weeks leading up to a production and suddenly that’s over.  Some are friends and continue seeing one another regularly but others drift apart.

Though the many hours that I’ve been putting into drama lately have come to an end, I’m definitely not at a loss for things to do.  I’m continuing to pack up the household and at this rate, we’re going to be living a very minimalist lifestyle soon!  Of course, that will be good practice for Japan where we’ll be living in a very small apartment furnished with only the basics.

As I pack up our belongings, I realize more and more that it isn’t going to be them that I miss.  It’s going to be people.  I’ve already said a few of my good-byes and there will be many more but I just keep reminding myself that I’m coming back again!

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

