Mornings

I’ve never been a morning person. I like my days to begin gradually. Perhaps that’s why our present work schedule agrees so well with me. Not having to leave for work until noon or later most days is great! I guess it’s good that I feel this way as another class was added to my schedule yesterday and from now on I’ll be working until 9:00 p.m. on Mondays instead of 7:00. I now have the dubious honour of being the MIL teacher with the highest number of regularly scheduled teaching minutes per week.

I’m also a person who loves light. Getting up in the morning is so much easier if it’s light outside. On the other hand, I hate knowing that daylight hours are wasting away while I’m asleep. For this reason, I really think that Japan should adopt Daylight Savings Time! Right now, the sun is coming up a couple of minutes after 5:00 a.m. What a waste, especially since I don’t intend to get up for another three hours! It would seem that many of my neighbours wouldn’t agree, however. They appear to be early risers. Some of them had their first load of laundry hanging out to dry before mine made it into the washing machine this morning and since today is pick up day for cans and bottles, they started depositing those in the sacks below our window shortly after 6:00 this morning! Believe me, this is not a quiet activity!

Of course, it might be easier to get up with the neighbours if we went to bed earlier but we’re often eating dinner at 10:00 p.m. and somehow, going to bed as soon as the dishes are done just doesn’t work for me! I need some down time to relax after the day’s work. If I happen to be reading a compelling book, putting it down and going to bed is even more difficult. At the moment, on the good advice of my friend Tess, I’m reading The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. It took awhile to get into but now I’m having trouble putting it down!

2 thoughts on “Mornings

  1. Oh, I loved that book. I know exactly how you feel about mornings. Sometimes I think having mornings free is the best part about being an ESL teacher.

  2. Elaine all the years I have known you…I realize that there is so much more to know! I had no idea you weren’t a morning person either. I would be so happy if the world would run on my time. Wake up at 10:00 sleep at 2:00 would be perfect. Do you think we can change the world my wise friend…

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

