Deuteronomy 29:5

Before we came to Japan, I was under the impression that I wouldn’t be able to find clothes to fit so I was careful to make sure that I had enough to last the year if necessary.  As it happens, however, I’ve already bought a pair of pants, a skirt, two tops and a couple of hats!  Imagine that.  Hats!  I come from a family of big-headed people and I can’t usually find ladies hats to fit in Canada but here I’ve bought two; one for winter and one for summer!

Shoes are another matter, however.  I would have to search far and wide to find a pair to fit me.  It’s really quite unfortunate as there are so many cute shoes here.  Shopping could be such fun!  On the other hand, it’s easier on the budget this way and I do have to think about how much I can carry home.

I brought five pairs of shoes, a pair of sandals and a pair of flip flops with me.  That sounds like enough to last a year but considering how much walking we have to do and the fact that it’s all on pavement, I wonder if it will be.  I have two pairs of dressy flats that are suitable for wearing to school with skirts and capris.   The dress code doesn’t allow me to wear sandals.

After just a few trips to school and back, the heels of my black flats were completely worn down so today I paid a visit to the shoemaker in the corner of one of the local department stores.   Once again, I discovered how easy it can be to communicate my needs without a common language.  I indicated what I wanted done, he wrote down the time that I should come back and within an hour, my shoes had new heels and he’d even polished them for me!   The funny part of the whole thing is that I paid more to have the heels replaced than the original cost of the shoes!  Replacing the heels cost 1155 yen (approximately $11.50) which doesn’t seem at all unreasonable but I distinctly remember buying the shoes on sale at Zellers for only $9.00!

I’m more concerned about my other black shoes, the ones I wear most often because they’re very comfortable and look good with dress slacks.  They have thick rubber soles that will never wear out but I hope the shoes themselves stand up to a year of pavement pounding, especially considering how often they get wet.  They’re an inexpensive Payless purchase but I’ve had wonderful success with Payless shoes in the past so I have high expectations for these ones too.

I’m often reminded, as I wonder whether or not my shoes will last, that during the forty years that the Israelites wandered in the wilderness, their sandals never wore out.  I’m not wandering in the wilderness but, like the Israelites, I’m definitely in a place where I can’t replace my footwear so I’m counting on the same care from above!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 20:35:56

    A-ha! Maybe you’ll have to visit Itaewon in Seoul after all. I have the same problem in that I can’t find shoes to fit, but I can wear running shoes to my classes. I have the feeling that you would be able to find shoes in Itaewon but I think they may be a whole lot more expensive than payless.

    Reply

  2. Deb
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 23:49:53

    To another of my big footed friends (you actually just have an extended understanding) I will keep the shoes in my prayers, If we have to send some we could you know….Love Deb

    Reply

  3. Robin
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 01:25:05

    As Melanie said — Korea. The only place we could get Matt business shoes in Japan was when we left to visit Korea.

    Also, if you know the styles you like, I believe you can order online at Payless and have them delivered to our place (or shipped to a Richmond store) and we can bring them over in August.

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

