From fashion model to farmer

Many early settlers came to our part of Alberta from Norway.  Every May 17th, which is Norwegian Independence Day, the local historical society hosts a tea.  This year they decided to include a fashion show featuring vintage clothing from the Sedgewick museum collection and I was recruited as a model.

I visited the museum a couple of weeks ago to try on clothes.  I must admit that I couldn’t help wondering why some garments are considered to be of historical value and are carefully preserved in the museum while other similar items end up in the local thrift store!  I suppose, however, that the goal is to preserve a sample of different styles from throughout the years for the enjoyment of future generations.  As I perused the collection and tried things on, I also came to the realization that I have clothing in my basement that should probably be in the museum!

IMG_4232_1I modeled five items in yesterday’s show.  One of my favourites was a navy blue drop waist dress that I’m guessing might have originated in the 1940s. Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of that one.  I also fell in love with an exquisite wedding dress that fit me like a glove.  I think there must still be a bit of the little girl who loved playing dress up in me!

Some of the other items that I modeled bordered on hideous.  As we hurriedly changed from one outfit to another, we couldn’t help but wonder whatever possessed us or our predecessors to think that some of the styles were attractive and ought to be worn in public!  The polyester checked pantsuit looks far better in the photo than it did in real life and the multicoloured tent dress was part of our final category known as Far Out Fashions.  Four of us appeared on the runway wearing various gaudy items and the audience was asked to choose the farthest out by clapping, cheering and generally indicating their choice as noisily as possible.  I won hands down.  No one else had the courage to appear in something that outlandish!

All in all, it was a fun afternoon and hopefully also a successful fundraiser for the historical society who are in the process of raising funds for some badly needed renovations to the old sandstone building that houses the museum.  Built in 1910, it was originally the Merchants Bank of Canada and later became the Bank of Montreal.

Yesterday was a gorgeous day so when the show was over, we headed out to the golf course with a group of friends.  After just one hole of golf, however, a horrendous wind storm blew in and the temperature plummeted.  I’m hoping to be back in my farming clothes and out on the tractor again this afternoon but there are snowflakes in the air this morning so it’s looking pretty iffy.

IMG_4221_1 IMG_4225_1_1 IMG_4231_1

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

