Will the world end in 2012?

Earlier this week, I came across an ad for a Christian book entitled “2012, The Bible, and The End of The World” by Mark Hitchcock. According to the product description, Hitchcock “explores a fascinating last-days controversy that is gaining the attention of millions all over the globe.”

My first thought was to wonder where I’ve been and why I wasn’t aware of such a widespread argument. Doomsday prophecies are far from a new phenomena and this one apparently finds its origin in the fact that December 21, 2012 is the final date to appear in the ancient Mayan calendar.

I was also reminded of all the hype surrounding Y2K, the big non event of January 1, 2000. Many seriously believed that we were in great peril because worldwide technology would fail due to an anticipated inability by computers to read the new date correctly. Many took action stockpiling food, water and other necessities in anticipation of being without power, heat, transportation and communication for an extended period of time.

My attitude toward the prophecy that the world will end on the winter solstice of 2012 is the same as it was toward Y2K. I’m not even slightly worried. I simply don’t believe it. As the end of 1999 approached, I put my confidence in Isaiah 33:16. Speaking of the righteous man, one who lives a life that pleases God, it says “His bread will be supplied, and water will not fail him.” During that time, I coined a favourite phrase, “my God makes manna”, and trusted that he would take care of us in the unlikely event that something did happen when the clock struck midnight.

The Bible does forecast that someday the world as we know it will come to an end but I do know for sure that it won’t happen on December 21, 2012. In Matthew 24:36, the Bible clearly says, “No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, or the Son, but only the Father.” The fact that there are those who claim to know the exact date is a clear indication that they are wrong.

When I saw the title “2012, The Bible, and The End of The World”, however, I asked myself, what would I do if I did know that the world was going to end in two year’s time? How would I live differently? What would my priorities be? Valid questions to which I have no definite answers.

One thought on “Will the world end in 2012?

  1. Another school of thought, though I think it’s significantly smaller, is that 2012 will bring a change in the world as we know it through some great enlightenment. Hmm? I, too, think it’s most likely that absolutely nothing will happen, but I guess we’ll have to wait and see! lol

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

