To teach but not to sub

About a month ago, I blogged about the decision that we were trying to make regarding whether or not to sign on as substitute teachers. The more we thought about it and the more we talked about it, the more certain we became that we didn’t really want to do that. Then the answer came, as they often do, in an unexpected way. In a matter of a few days, I was approached by two different friends and asked if I had ever considered tutoring.

Beginning tomorrow afternoon, I’ll be sitting down at my kitchen table twice a week and helping a junior high boy with Science, Social Studies and occasionally some Language Arts. Next semester, I might also be helping a high school boy with English. I have a feeling that I’ll find it much more rewarding than trying to make sense out of another teacher’s hastily put together plans and spending my time in front of a classroom full of unruly kids who think that having a substitute teacher means not having to work! Perhaps my classroom days are over but once a teacher, always a teacher and I’m looking forward to this new challenge.

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

