All expenses paid

A couple of months ago I received an email from my sister offering me an all expenses paid week in Vegreville! I’ve often dreamed of winning an all expenses paid trip; an exotic location, a beach resort perhaps, or maybe even a European tour but I’m absolutely certain that Vegreville wasn’t anywhere on that list of dream destinations! For those who aren’t familiar with this part of the world, Vegreville is a community of approximately 5500 people located about an hour north of our home and an hour east of Edmonton.

What my sister actually had in mind was someone to spend nine days with her three teenage sons while she and her husband visit their daughter, Emily, who’s presently in Bermuda with the MV Logos Hope, the Operation Mobilization missions ship that she serves on. I told Linda that we’d be happy to oblige as long as she had a back up plan in case Melaina decides to have the baby this week. The boys are 15, 16 and 17 years old so they don’t really need babysitting. They’re pretty self sufficient but not quite ready to be left entirely on their own for that length of time.

The boys are homeschooled but we made it clear that we were coming as auntie and uncle, not as teachers. We’ll do our best to see that they devote enough time to their studies but other than that, they’re pretty much on their own this week as far as schooling is concerned. Most of their studies are done online so I don’t think they’ll suffer unduly.

Homeschooling vs public schooling is an issue that my siblings and I have long agreed to disagree on. My brother’s children were also homeschooled until recently and are now attending a small Christian school. It was definitely a bit weird being a public school teacher in a family where no one else of my generation agreed with the concept but our children always made it clear that they felt that our choice was the best one for them and I think their lives today prove that they were right.

Linda and Jeff flew out this morning and when we arrived several hours later all three boys appeared to be working diligently. Linda had prepared supper in advance and all I had to do was warm it up. Beginning tomorrow, I’m on my own as far as cooking is concerned but she’s divvied up most of the other household chores between the boys so it looks like it could be a pretty simple week.

Melaina is still threatening to have the baby anytime so we’re not sure how long we’ll actually be here. She’ll see the obstetrician again tomorrow so maybe we’ll have a better idea after that. In the meantime, we’ll be waiting here instead of at home.

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

