Finding beauty close to home

When we’re on vacation or far from home, we seek out interesting or unique places to visit and things to do but we sometimes miss out on the gems that are closest to home. Until today, we had never been to the Devonian Botanic Garden just two hours away.

After taking some friends to the Edmonton International Airport to catch a flight, we spent most of the afternoon exploring the nearby garden. I lost my pedometer before we got there 😦 so I have no idea how far we walked but my feet are telling me that they had a good workout! With 80 acres of display gardens and another 110 acres of natural areas and ecological preserves, there were lots of paths to follow and areas to explore!

It was the Kurimoto Japanese Garden that I most wanted to see. During our year in Japan, I fell in love with its beautiful strolling gardens. In fact, I’ve often teased Richard, telling him that we should turn our backyard into a Japanese garden. He just laughs and I doubt that it will actually ever happen but I was curious to see how this style of garden could be replicated in our climate, so different from Japan’s. I wasn’t disappointed. With its meandering paths, reflecting pond, stone lanterns, pagoda and bridges it definitely captured the tranquility and the simple beauty of this unique garden style.

After exploring the Japanese garden, we moved on to the indoor displays. The tropical butterfly greenhouse was my favourite. It was fun picking out plants that we’d become familiar with during our recent stay on Saipan.

Moving back outdoors into the bright September sunshine, we set off to explore the rest of the outdoor displays. Though it’s late in the season and many plants are no longer in bloom, there were still lots of splashes of colour to enjoy.

  

After wandering through the various displays of annuals and perennials, the herb gardens, the native peoples’ garden, the alpine garden and many more, we returned for a final stroll around the Japanese garden before heading for home. After all, who knows how long it might be before I visit another one.

 

4 thoughts on “Finding beauty close to home

    • I haven’t had very good luck with pedometers, possibly because I’ve only bought really cheap ones. I wasn’t terribly disappointed when this one went missing because I don’t think it was very accurate anyway. Perhaps I should bite the bullet and spend a bit more on the next one. I’ve been told that Omron is an excellent brand.

  1. What a beautiful place. great photos.
    A pedometer? I have a garmin forerunner which records not only the distance I have gone, but the speed, and my route. If I get lost, I can follow my route back using the GPS. I love it.

    • Wow! That definitely sounds like a handy device. I usually use Google Pedometer to measure how far I’ve walked but that doesn’t work when you get off road.

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

