All I want for Christmas

Six months ago I couldn’t do a push up; not even one. In fact, in spite of all my years of weight lifting, I’d never been able to do one; not even a so-called ladies or knee push up which, in my opinion, isn’t really a push up at all. When the tendonitis healed and my frozen shoulders thawed, I decided it was time to learn. I found a great little instructional video on YouTube and got to work.

Beginning with wall push ups, I worked intermittently over the summer months, gradually moving down from doing push ups against the wall to the kitchen counter to the bathroom counter to the three step landing in our entrance. By fall, I was using the coffee table. That’s when I decided what I wanted for Christmas… ten perfect push ups… real ones, on the floor! Today I struggled through seven fearing that I was going to collapse face first on the floor at any moment. It wasn’t pretty!

Can I eke out three more before Christmas? I’m really not sure but I’m going to give it my best shot.

7 thoughts on “All I want for Christmas

  1. I for one, love you the way you are, but if it makes you happy, then there is no harm in doing your hair differently…you are not harming anyone by doing it! Can you imagine the faces if you did a Deborah hair-do….hahaha

  2. Pingback: What am I doing in the basement? « Following Augustine

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

