Random stuff about me

When I packed for Costa Rica, one of the things that went into our suitcase was a very special leather bound journal; a retirement gift from the students of Lougheed School. It’s travelled to many interesting places over the past four and a half years but it still had enough pages left to record the highlights of this trip. I planned to refer to it when we got home and I resumed blogging but unfortunately, though we got home in the wee hours of this morning, the suitcase containing the journal did not! In fact, I watched from my window seat as the baggage handlers at the Houston airport failed to put it onto the plane yesterday afternoon and was powerless to do anything about it! I have no idea why they wouldn’t load it but the return trip was a comedy of errors from beginning to end and included an unscheduled overnight stay in Houston. That’s a story for another day, however. In the meantime, suffice it to say that we had an absolutely awesome time which, try as they might, Continental Airlines was not able to spoil!

For today, however, my brain is too tired to handle anything beyond following the example of my blogging buddy, Donloree, and answering some random questions about myself. Perhaps some of you who have only met me through the blogosphere will learn a little more about me today…

  • What’s the most interesting or moving book you’ve ever read?
In my opinion, Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide by Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn should be required reading for every citizen of the developed world. Kristof and WuDunn are upfront and clear; their aim is to recruit their readers to get involved in helping provide the economic resources that will transform the lives of women in many parts of the world who face unspeakable violence, exploitation and oppression. This book had a tremendous impact on me and prompted me to become a lender through the Kiva organization.
  • Which do you prefer: the book or the movie?
Always, the book!
  • If you could move to anywhere tomorrow, where would it be?
I honestly have no idea! There is so much world out there; so many places I’d like to see and experience. Somewhere warm where I could hear the sound of the surf as I drifted off to sleep every night would definitely work well for me though!
  • What’s the one thing in life that you can’t leave the house without?

My glasses. I’ve been wearing them since I was two and I’m pretty useless without them.

  • What’s the furthest place you’ve flown to?
The tiny tropical island of Saipan.
  • If you could be anyone for a day, who would it be?
Wow! That’s a tough one. It would be wonderful to be able to see the world through someone else’s eyes for a day but in reality, I just want to be the best ME that I can be.
  • What is one word that best describes you?  (only one)
Adventurous.
  • What’s been your greatest accomplishment to date?
Raising fantastic children! I am so proud of each one of them.
  • What’s your favourite type of food?
At the moment, I’m missing Costa Rican food. Who would have thought I could love rice and beans three meals a day? Of course, there were many other flavourful dishes to go with them. In reality, however, I’d have to say chocolate. After all, it is an essential food group, isn’t it?
  • What’s one nickname you have?
My daughter has called me Marmee ever since she played the role of Beth in Little Women in high school drama.
  • What’s the best thing you did in 2011?

Spent the summer working as a short term missionary alongside my husband providing summer ministry coverage for Living Hope Church of the Nazarene on Saipan.

So, now that you know a little more about me, what about you?

It’s your turn!

And yes, I’ll be back very soon to share more about our Costa Rican adventure. Hopefully, the suitcase will find it’s way home and I’ll have the journal to help me out!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donloree
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 06:51:57

    I love it! Marmee is a fabulous name for you. And yes, chocolate is an essential food…antioxidants and whatnot. 😉

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

