Sometimes I need an ocean

When life gets stressful, as it sometimes does, what I really want to do is walk by the ocean and be soothed by the sound of the surf. That’s probably because, as a child, I could hear the rhythm of the waves from my bed as I drifted off to sleep.

The past week has been a stressful one; a week of worrying about my parents. Dad hasn’t been well. That resulted in both parents literally sleeping through one entire day… no food, no water, no medication! If my sister hadn’t phoned that evening, who knows what might have happened?

Recognizing the need for a better emergency plan, my sis and I have spent the week making phone calls, gathering information, asking questions we’d rather not have to ask. Dad is Mom‘s primary caregiver and we’re a province away. What do we do if something happens to him? Is it any wonder that I feel like I need an ocean to walk by?

Alas, there are no oceans here on the Alberta prairie but as I mentioned in my last post, whenever I have the opportunity to walk by the sea I bring home all sorts of bits and pieces… shells, driftwood, sea glass. Many favourite pieces have found their way into our main bathroom. There’s a giant pink conch shell bought for $1 on a beach road in the Bahamas in 1977. We had just found out that I was pregnant with our first child. There’s a beautiful abalone shell, given to my husband by a ranger at a campground on the California coast in 1993. Then there are all the pieces that I’ve picked up over the years. Some are quite ordinary… oyster, clam and mussel shells. Others are special… moon snails treasured since childhood, a razor clam from the PEI beach where my grandfather probably played as a child, a tiny shell from our first visit to Japan, beautiful pieces of sea glass from Saipan and most recently, a shell from Costa Rica.

   


I may not be able to walk by the ocean and let the sound of the surf wash away my troubles but at least I can retreat to the bathroom and relax in a warm tub surrounded by my seaside treasures. Occasionally, a glass of wine even goes with me!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggie L R
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 06:32:58

    Firstly I am praying that you find a suitable solution for your parents.I know how stressful that can be.
    Your bathroom is lovely, I love picking up shells and actually have several in one of my bathrooms. (are we related?)
    If you get yourself one of those CD’s with the ocean surf, you can sit in the bath, enjoy your wine and listen to the surf. Let your imagination take you to the seaside.
    May the peace of God reign in your heart.

    Reply

  2. Amy
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 09:02:36

    Thank you so much for your comment on my blog! And I must say that if I ever win the lottery, the beach/ocean is where I’m bound! There’s just nothing quite like it!!

    http://www.plentyforpennies.blogspot.com

    Reply

  3. Malou
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 15:09:33

    That’s a very creative way of utilizing your shell collection. Always a good reminder of those days under the sun. 😉

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

