Lord, move this mountain!

Yesterday the paperwork that we’d been waiting for arrived; the invitation letter and working permit that would allow us to go to China to teach. Today we filled out our visa application forms and the supplementary forms required for a Z (working) visa. I gathered together the mountain of paperwork that we’d need then decided that I should phone the Visa Application Service Center in Calgary to make sure that we had everything we needed before we made the four hour trip to Calgary on Monday. Thank goodness I did!

When you phone the service center, you get a recording telling you that all the information you need is on their website. I knew that but I’m anal. I wanted to talk to a real person just to be sure. After pressing one for English then listening to a lengthy menu, I finally pressed 0 and was connected to Peter. That’s when I learned that the website is actually out of date!

According to the website, which I first checked several weeks ago, people who are going to China to work for less than 6 months do not need to present a physical examination record with their visa application. Wrong! Peter told me that that requirement changed a couple of months ago and yes, we would need to present completed medical forms!

Yikes! We live in rural Alberta where there’s a doctor shortage. It can take weeks just to get an appointment! We’re supposed to have a complete check-up, a chest x-ray, an ECG and even an AIDS test, for goodness sake!

Panic immediately set in. I’m sure my blood pressure went through the roof! How in the world are we supposed to climb this mountain in the limited amount of time we have to get our visas?

That’s when Matthew 17:20 came to mind. “I assure you, even if you had faith as small as a mustard seed you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible.”

For a moment, my eye was only on the mountain; the problem. When we focus on the problem, everything else including God seems small but when we focus on God, the problem seems small. Right now, I’m trying very hard to focus on God and not to worry. As our friend Ilef likes to say, I’m waiting to see how God’s going to get us out of this mess. I believe that if God wants us in China, we’ll be on the plane with visas in hand!

Lord, move this mountain, I pray! 

IMG_0301

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. on thehomefrontandbeyond
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 18:53:40

    good luck — there seems to be a doctor shortage everywhere – I live in a small town in Ontario and we are trying to attract more doctors to our area

    Reply

    • edebock
      Jan 17, 2013 @ 21:07:55

      Thank you, LouAnn! We learned this evening that there are three new doctors in surrounding communities that are all seeing new patients. I’d much rather see our own doctor but unless we’re somehow able to see him right away, we’ll have to pursue seeing one of these new ones. I’m trusting that this will work out somehow.

      Reply

  2. gracefully50
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 22:34:33

    Oh my goodness! Why would they not update the website?
    I hope it’s His will that you go to China. Saying a prayer for you!

    Reply

    • edebock
      Jan 17, 2013 @ 22:46:13

      I don’t know! Apparently the rules change often.

      I really do believe in the power of prayer. Thank you for adding yours to ours, Jeannie!

      Reply

  3. Helen Ann Bucher
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 00:48:42

    We’ll be praying, too. God’s timing is everything. Keep us posted so we’ll know how He works out the mess!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Our mountain is moving! « Following Augustine
  5. Trackback: Tangled knots of tension « Following Augustine
  6. Trackback: No more mountain! « Following Augustine

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

