Over, under or through the Wall

One thing we absolutely must do while we’re in China is visit and walk on the Great Wall but it’s not that wall that’s been bothering me.

The Great Firewall of China, or the Golden Shield as it’s officially known, is a censorship and surveillance project operated by the Ministry of Public Security of the People’s Republic of China that prevents access to websites that are deemed undesirable. I’m pretty sure I can learn to live without Facebook but what would I do if I couldn’t blog?

I know that there are ways to get over, under or through the wall; things called VPNs (virtual personal networks) but I’m not overly computer savvy. I was a little worried about whether or not I’d be able to figure out how to access and use something like that especially considering the fact that I’ll be in a country where I won’t speak the language.

Then, a couple of days ago, I was searching the WordPress site looking for something entirely different when I came across a series of instructions entitled Generating a Post by Email. We’ve been assured that we’ll be able to use our gmail account so it would appear that my problem has been solved! In fact, this post is my test case. I’m actually writing it as an email to make sure that this works and that I have it all figured out.

I may not be able to lay things out exactly the way I’d like to and I haven’t figured out whether or not I can include a link but apparently I can add photos and tags. In fact, I’ll test those features with this post too.

I always receive an email notification when one of you leaves a comment and I’ve already figured out how to respond to those via email so even that won’t be a problem if I’m not able to access the blog directly.

So why not pack your virtual suitcase and come along with me? We fly to China one month from today and you won’t even need a visa!

photo credit: http://www.dgreatwallofchina.com/

10 thoughts on “Over, under or through the Wall

  1. Looks like the posting works. If it breaks down though, know that when a friend was there, she emailed us and we posted for her. Looking forward to hearing about your adventures.

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

