Packing 105: To fold or to roll, that is the question

Though some people roll their clothing to pack it in a suitcase claiming that it takes up less space and doesn’t wrinkle as much, I prefer to fold most of ours.

I learned to fold and pack from a master. When I was a child my father spent several years commuting between Powell River and Vancouver almost every week. Every week my mother did his laundry, starched and pressed his dress shirts and repacked his suitcase. I remember watching her with fascination. She could fold a shirt so that it looked like it had just come out of it’s original package.

Every summer, our family of six would pile into the big blue and white International Travelall and set off on a camping adventure that often lasted several weeks. Mom would pack everything we needed into the back of the vehicle. There was no such thing as a nylon tent in those days but she could fit the bulky canvas tent, six sleeping bags, foam sleeping mats, the Coleman stove, dishes, food, clothes, life jackets and fishing gear and a multitude of other things into the space behind the back seat.

Travelall_2

One summer we chartered a float plane and flew into Garibaldi Lake nestled high in the coastal mountains. Mom had to weigh every single item that went on that trip to make sure that we didn’t exceed the plane’s weight limit. Yes, she was definitely a packing wizard!

Float plane_2

But I digress! Though I fold the majority of our clothing, I often roll things like pyjamas to fit into small unused spaces between other items. On our upcoming trip to China, I’m also going to try a packing technique that I’ve never used before. By packing bulky items in ziploc bags and squeezing the air out before sealing them, they’ll take up much less room in a suitcase. Richard’s navy blue fleece hoodie is two sizes larger than my red one but look at how much less space it needs.

IMG_0757

And before I bring this packing series to an end, here’s one last tip: It’s amazing how much you can pack inside the shoes that go into your suitcase. Stuff them full of socks, underwear, pantyhose, pill bottles, anything that will fit!

Do you fold or roll?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Titterington
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 15:07:03

    Emily’s Explore group use some sort of stuff bag that you can suck all the air out of and make it even more compact than your ziploc bags. They are probably sold at camping supply stores.

    Reply

    • edebock
      Feb 09, 2013 @ 16:17:28

      Yes, a number of places that cater to backpackers advertise waterproof compression stuff sacks that are designed for carrying sleeping bags and other bulky items compactly.

      Reply

  2. Charles in HK
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 18:00:28

    I fold but always use the little pockets of space in shoes etc. great idea! Loved the black and white photos.

    Reply

  3. Maggie L R
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 22:42:50

    good idea stuffing shoes, no more wasted space..
    I usually roll when I am living out of a suitcase because I can see each item instead of digging…

    Reply

  4. gracefully50
    Feb 10, 2013 @ 11:08:00

    Good idea to use a zip lock for bulky items, but I’ve not thought to use the shoes! Good one!

    Reply

  5. astimegoesbuy
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 04:30:07

    I predominately fold, but like you, roll pjs and t-shirts to fit in the smallest space possible. Plus my shoes are always packed with socks or underwear, usually in a couple of small plastic bags in case I need somewhere to separate dirty clothes.
    Cheers,
    Laura

    Reply

  6. The Scrumptious Pumpkin
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 08:44:52

    Amazing the amount of space you can save just by using ziplocs – this is a great idea that I plan to use. Gorgeous black and white photos too by the way!

    Reply

  7. Donloree
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 06:38:54

    Ziploc! Now that is brilliance right there. Wow. So smart. 🙂

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

