A new journey…

It looks like Richard and I are embarking on a new journey… not one that we would have chosen. It started with a phone call from my doctor on Tuesday morning.

If you’ve been reading my blog since we left for China at the end of February, you may recall that when we arrived we had to have complete medical check-ups including abdominal ultrasounds before our resident’s permits could be issued. That’s when we first learned that there was something on my liver but after having a CT scan, I was told that it was nothing to worry about. It was suggested that I follow up with my own doctor after returning to Canada.

Early in August, I went for my annual medical and took the ultrasound photos from China with me. Dr. H wisely ordered another ultrasound which I had early Monday morning. Immediately afterward, I was told that I should also have a CT scan and that was done before I left the hospital. I expected similar results to those I’d received in China but I couldn’t have been more wrong.

I was walking a nature trail in a provincial park several hours from home the next morning when my doctor called. He didn’t want to tell me the test results over the phone but since he was asking me to abort our planned trip to Vancouver and come home to meet with him, it was obvious that the news wasn’t good. I sat on the grass overlooking a beautiful lake while he told me that I have colon cancer which has already spread to my liver!

IMG_3103

Cancer… that dreaded C word!   Wow!   How do you respond to that?

With prayer!

I am a list maker so as soon as we got back to our campsite, I started writing a list of people I needed to call, not just to share our devastating news but also to ask for prayer. Prayer for healing, prayer for peace and prayer for the strength to walk this pathway with grace.

After dropping our daughter and grandchildren in Calgary the following morning as planned, we turned toward home and started this new journey. It all seems a bit surreal at this point as I feel perfectly fine! I saw an internist yesterday and I’m booked for a colonoscopy and biopsy on Wednesday. As long as the growth in my bowel isn’t threatening to cause a blockage anytime soon, it will not be removed at this point and I will likely start chemotherapy soon.

We believe in a mighty God who responds to the prayers of his people and we are asking for a miracle!  Whether he chooses to heal me with a touch of his hand or through the more usual medical means is immaterial to me but I am boldly asking for more time… there is much that I still want to accomplish in this life!

On the long drive home on Wednesday, as the doctor’s words rang in my head, I heard the still small voice of God’s Holy Spirit speak to my heart. I grabbed my notebook and wrote down his words so that I can recall them over and over again when things get rough and negative voices threaten to overcome me.

“I’ve got this in my hands. I know what’s going on. I’m going to take care of you.”

Where will this journey take us?

Where will this journey take us?

60 thoughts on “A new journey…

  1. We are ALL praying for you Elaine. Lean on Him now and know He is walking with you during this journey….but…please remember, you have lots of friends and family…if you need anything, please ask!

  2. Elaine and Richard, I too have walked this road and even though it may seem uphill, God is with you all the way. Trust he will guide you as he did me. The power of prayer does go a very long way in the healing process. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family and please call if you need anything.

  3. Dear Elaine, thank you so much for sharing your very tough news. Now, those who love you can draw alongside and pray and uplift you. Blake and I send our love and support to both you and Richard. You are so right – God is going to take care of you. Of this there is no doubt. And we will join you in prayer for complete healing. Our love to you both, Maureen and Blake xox

  4. Hi Elaine, thank you for sharing this difficult news with us! More of us to lift you up in prayer! We serve a Big God and He will take care of you and your family through this journey.You are a blessing to all of us and your writing inspiring! We pray, believe and speak complete healing over you! My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  5. I cannot imagine how it must feel to know that something like that is happening.
    But you’re right: God will take care of you; He always does.
    Praying for you!

  6. I do know how scary this is. And our family does know the power of prayer. Our thoughts and prayers go out for you as you go through this. As you know, God’s answer is often, Yes! And we have seen it. God bless you and your family through this trial.

  7. I’ve been praying for you since I heard the news. Very sorry that you and family have to travel this road. May God give you the strength you need to overcome this and give you a peace that only he can give. I pray you can feel his comforting arms around you. Many hugs for you, Richard and family!

    • Well that’s full circle, isn’t it! There are still people here who prayed for the triplets back in those early, very scary days who ask us how they’re doing now. They’re always amazed to hear that they’re nine years old already! Please give them a big hug for me (Sebbie too) and tell them how much I appreciate their prayers.

  8. Dear Elaine,
    Just read about your devastating news, we are so very, very sorry. It just seems like yesterday that our families were together in a similar situation, the Big C.
    Be assured that we will pray for you and believe in healing powers from the Masters hands, because we have an awesome God . God is good, all the time, all the time, God is good! Anita and Everett

  9. (Matthew 10:1 NKJV) And when He had called His twelve disciples to Him, He gave them power over unclean spirits, to cast them out, and to heal all kinds of sickness and all kinds of disease.

    In Jesus Name I speak healing to your body. Our God is a miracle working healer. He is mighty to save.
    I am praying for your health to be restored and for strength to stand in this time of trial.

  10. Elaine,

    As I shared the news today with the people close to me, please know that you are in many people’s prayers and have also been added to a prayer list for your restored health. My mother wanted me to tell you that you are already in her prayers and added “May the Great Spirit be with you during this time.” Much love…Isa Folkes

  11. Well, I see the world has lit up with prayers for Elaine! I shall add my voice to the ‘song of healing’, for you, for Richard & family and for the doctors. ~ Mell Hampshire

  12. Dear Elaine, sorry to hear of this devastating news. Our prayers and thoughts are with you, may God Bless you and keep you in the palm of his hands.

  13. Pingback: Apron prayers | Following Augustine

  14. I’m sorry to be reading this news so much later than everyone else. My focus has been elsewhere the past couple of weeks. Sending all of our positive thoughts and prayers to you, Elaine and to Richard, for healing and strength. I admire your courage in sharing your life, good and not so good. You are remarkable ❤

    • You had a beautiful wedding to focus on, Jan! I’ve enjoyed reading about it and seeing the photos on Facebook.

      Thank you for your prayers and support. I wasn’t sure how people would respond to me sharing this journey online but writing helps me process things and the blog is an easy way for me to communicate what’s going on to many people without having to repeat myself over and over again. The positive response has been overwhelming and so much appreciated!

  15. Pingback: What comes next? | Following Augustine

  16. Pingback: Following Augustine

  17. Pingback: Cancer times two! | Following Augustine

  18. Pingback: Top six | Following Augustine

  19. Pingback: Letting it go… with thanksgiving and hope | Following Augustine

  20. Pingback: It’s Wink Day! | Following Augustine

  21. Pingback: Is it a journey or a battle? | Following Augustine

  22. Pingback: Good news!! | Following Augustine

  23. Pingback: A pro-aging revolution | Following Augustine

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

