Beauty after the storm

I’m in a somewhat better frame of mind than I was when I wrote my last post. There are a couple of reasons for that. First, I read this in my devotions earlier in the week.

“When faced with challenging trials we have two options: to cower and travel down the unproductive road of fear or to walk forward, believing that our risen King is fully in control of our lives.”          Kirsten Rose

It brought me up short and reminded me that while I can’t necessarily choose my circumstances, I can choose how I react to them. We all have a limited amount of time on this earth and I can choose to waste whatever time I have trembling in fear or I can be thankful that I’m feeling well and get on with living. It may not always be easy but it’s obviously the better choice.

Secondly, I had a chat with Karey, the nurse at the Cross who is the “go to” person for neuroendocrine cancer patients when we have questions or concerns. She explained that Sandostatin, the drug that I receive monthly injections of, is a “cold” or non-radioactive form of Octreotide while Lutetium, the new treatment that we’re awaiting government approval for, is radioactive Octreotide. I was under the impression that Sandostatin was only meant to control my symptoms but she assured me that it also has an effect on the tumours themselves and that though my facial tumour isn’t receptive to the mIBG that I received recently, the Sandostatin should be helping keep it under control. I may have been told that before, but there’s been so much to learn, so much information to absorb, that it obviously didn’t sink in. This time, it was reassuring.

Today was already the tenth day since my mIBG treatment. Only four more days of avoiding close contact with other people to protect them from my radioactivity! The time has passed quickly and it hasn’t been as difficult as I imagined it might be though not being able to even hug my hubby has been tough. The past three days have been particularly quiet as I sent him off to Calgary to spend a few days at our daughter’s. I had several projects around the house and a couple of good library books to keep me busy.

Yesterday, a winter storm covered most of our province with a heavy blanket of snow and very few people ventured out but this morning we woke to blue sky and glorious sunshine. Since I couldn’t go to church, I bundled up and took my camera out to capture the beauty that the storm left behind.

IMG_3281

A friend loaded up his snow blower and brought it across town to clear my driveway before going to church himself! When I looked out and saw him, I felt the arms of God wrapped around me!

IMG_3283
IMG_3284
IMG_3286
IMG_3294

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah Proctor
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 22:44:29

    You choose wisely my dear friend!

    Reply

  2. Mrs C
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 10:04:25

    I wish I could say something more positive than this but with time my dear, your darling Mr would be in your arms again 🙂 Sending you a hug and remind you what a brave person you are! On another note we are truly on the opposite when it comes to weather.. can I tell you a secret? I am actually wishing for white X’mas and we both know that it will not happen here..

    REGARDS FROM DUBAI xxx
    MRS JACK OF ALL TRADES
    http://mrsjackofalltradesdaily.blogspot.ae/

    Reply

  3. silverscreenings
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 18:34:29

    Gorgeous photos!

    Here’s hoping the remaining days go quickly…

    Reply

  4. Marilyn Maertz
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 20:31:26

    Thanks for the generous information.

    Reply

  5. Marilyn Maertz
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 20:32:24

    Those pictures are real pretty. That’s a good way to worship on Sunday, enjoying all God’s beauty.

    Reply

    • edebock
      Nov 19, 2013 @ 23:15:38

      Yes, I’d much rather be able to worship with my church family but since I wasn’t able to, it did my heart good to get out and enjoy the beauty God created.

      Reply

  6. Anonymous
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 15:18:48

    love you……..

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

