Cancer times two!

Seven months to the day after being told that I have cancer, I heard that dreaded message all over again. I don’t just have cancer, I have two completely different kinds of cancer!

After waiting patiently for three weeks (okay, maybe I wasn’t all that patient), I finally received the results of my biopsy yesterday. The growth in my salivary gland is, indeed, another cancer. Though I don’t have any details yet, I’ve been told that it will be removed surgically. I don’t know when. I don’t know whether follow-up treatment will be required. In fact, the things I don’t know far outweigh the things I do.

We expected this journey to be a bumpy one and I knew that there would likely be a few unexpected curves in the road but I definitely wasn’t prepared for this one! I must admit that I’m beginning to feel a bit like Old Testament Job who endured catastrophe heaped upon catastrophe. Fortunately, I have a much better support system than he had! No one is suggesting that anything I have done or failed to do has brought these troubles upon me and no one, like Job’s wife, is suggesting that I “Curse God and die!” (Job 2:9) On the contrary, I am surrounded by friends and family upholding me in prayer and offering whatever support they can. I also need to remind myself that, in the end, God blessed Job abundantly. I’m still hanging on to the hem of his garment and praying that my story will end similarly!

In the meantime, I’m doing my best to keep on putting one foot in front of the other. There’s still laundry to do, meals to make and sunshine pouring in my window. My brain is a bit fuzzy; taking it’s time absorbing this latest blow, I guess. I found myself having to look up family phone numbers last night that I usually know as well as I know my own!

That brings me to yesterday’s good news. After being rushed to hospital in respiratory failure two weeks ago, my 90-year-old father was discharged yesterday. For the moment, things are calm on the parental front!

 

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 10:37:06

    There’s still friends to meet with, grandchildren to play with, family to talk to, and boxes of chocolate to eat. You won’t be alone hanging on to the hem. Lots of love and chocolate to hold you up through whatever the future brings.

    Reply

  2. crazyguyinthailand
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 10:46:47

    Check out beetroot benefits. get a mixed squeeze it into juice 3 times a day. I have no energy to write about it now. but if you really want to keep living try it. there is no side effects. so if it does not work on you. no harm done and no money spent. its something with that reddish. it cleans the blood and ad oxygen to the blood. and in turn strengthen your body. the girl that got cured with it after 3-6 months. was sent home by the doctors in Sweden to die. xray showed nothing to be done. after 3-6 months she went back to check. what cancer the doctor said. unbelievable its gone on the xray. it was in Sweden many years ago. even in the newspaper. now its up to you(there are different types of cancer. not guaranteed it will work. but what do you have to lose)

    Reply

  3. Deborah
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 11:08:46

    love….

    Reply

  4. Jan Bergseth
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 12:16:23

    Well…..POOP! Sorry that’s my first reaction (edited). Hugs and support, always Elaine and family.

    Reply

  5. Silver Screenings
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 16:49:20

    Oh no! I am so sorry to hear this news.

    For what it’s worth, I’m pulling for you and hope things go much better from here on in.

    Also, I like what the first commenter said about chocolate. That is a very wise person. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Glenys Rott
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 17:36:54

    So sorry you’ve been dealt another nasty blow.
    It’s good to hear good news about your dad along with the bad.
    Know that you are in my prayers daily and will continue to pray not only for complete restoration, but also peace and the comfort and strength of those who are there to hug you, pray with you and give encouragement.

    Reply

  7. Michelle
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 17:38:27

    un. believe. able.
    Surgery is reserved for curable cancers, usually. Just saying.
    Prayers

    Reply

  8. Michelle
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 17:40:01

    ps.Curse cancer and live.

    Reply

  9. Lily Mugford
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 17:54:58

    I am still praying for a miracle healing, I know the One in charge of the miracle department… and the One who took the stripes for your healing. (hugs)

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Top six | Following Augustine
  11. Life in the 50's and beyond...
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 16:27:25

    Praying for healing and good health for you and your family.

    Reply

  12. Mrs C
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 16:20:05

    I am speechless 😦 You have a lot of people praying for you, Elaine.. add a few more from this side of the planet.. sending you a big hug xoxo

    p.s. Happy to know that Dad is better now

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Baby snuggles | Following Augustine
  14. Trackback: Porteau Cove | Following Augustine
  15. Trackback: Finally! | Following Augustine
  16. Trackback: As good as my last scan | Following Augustine

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

