Shoes of hope

30099481_main

Sometimes a pair of golf shoes is just that, a pair of shoes designed to provide comfort and stability while playing the game of golf. The pair I bought today, however, are much more than that. These shoes, purchased to replace a very old pair that are literally falling apart, are a symbol of hope. Hope that the ugly weather that has been giving us below average temperatures, rain and even snow far into what is normally spring, will someday come to an end but also, hope that the surgery that I’ll be having the day after tomorrow will go well and that I’ll soon be able to get on with life!

I really have no idea how long it will take to recover from the operation to remove a cancerous tumour from my salivary gland. That will depend on how difficult the procedure is to perform, something that even the surgeon can’t determine ahead of time. Regardless of whether I’m only in the hospital overnight or have to stay much longer, I expect to be swathed in bandages for awhile afterward. If you’re out on the Sedgewick golf course and see someone who looks a bit like a mummy wearing shiny new golf shoes, that will be me!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs C
    May 06, 2014 @ 01:30:48

    Dear Elaine, We are sending your way our prayers and the highest hope that everything about the surgery will go smoothly. A hug and waiting to hear from you again on this page soon.. πŸ™‚ Love, Ida, Roberto and the kids, Dubai UAE

    Reply

  2. Jan Scheidt
    May 06, 2014 @ 05:06:18

    Keeping you and the family in prayers….Jan Scheidt

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  3. crazyanneca
    May 06, 2014 @ 08:22:17

    Keep on golfing “mummy”. seriously you know my thoughts and prayers are with you. I have been praying it will be an “easy” procedure but know God will get you through no matter what.

    Reply

  4. Heather
    May 06, 2014 @ 09:19:21

    Hi there! My name is Heather and I was hoping you would be willing to answer a question about your blog! My email is Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Doris Johnson
    May 06, 2014 @ 12:54:36

    I may have to go golfing just to see the “mummy”.. and the new shoes!!

    Reply

  6. Glenys Rott
    May 06, 2014 @ 19:00:01

    Praying your surgery is uncomplicated and recovery is swift!
    You need to wear those new shoes on the course VERY soon!
    Love & Blessings!

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

