Meeting Donloree!

As I’ve mentioned before, one of the perks of blogging is connecting with other bloggers and, in some cases, establishing long distance friendships with them. I first heard of Donloree Hoffman when I read an article in the Edmonton Journal in October 2010.

“Donloree Hoffman is about to do the scariest thing she’s ever done.

She’s going to put on an itsy bitsy teenie weenie purple bedazzled micro-bikini, slip her feet into five-inch Barbie-doll heels, and strut her new lean and toned self in front of some very judgmental people.”

The article’s opening paragraphs captured my attention and I immediately checked out the link to her blog. I’ve been following it ever since.

In the early days, Donloree introduced me to the fascinating world of fitness competition. A leadership coach who is passionate about empowering people to break out of their comfort zone and be the best that they can be, Donloree describes herself as a bodybuilding hobbyist, an avid reader, and a lover of audacious living. She also has a wonderful sense of humour.

Until today, I had never met one of my blogging friends in person but, after spending this morning navigating the maze that is Edmonton’s University Hospital in preparation for tomorrow’s surgery, I did just that! Donloree and I have been trying to connect in person for awhile and this time, it finally happened. When she walked into the Starbucks where we’d arranged to meet, it was like reconnecting with an old friend and we chatted for more than an hour!

IMG_3757_2

I’m very fortunate that Donloree lives in Edmonton, just two hours from home. There are a few other bloggers that I’d also like to meet but they live in more exotic places like San Antonio, Texas and Dubai! That might be a bit more difficult to arrange!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    May 06, 2014 @ 20:55:38

    I’ve got an online buddy in Australia. The world is so much smaller, and yet it’s still quite big!

    Reply

  2. Jan Bergseth
    May 06, 2014 @ 21:34:27

    Very cool!

    Reply

  3. Donloree
    May 07, 2014 @ 05:01:52

    It was so much fun!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for making time for me and putting up with my epic bad hair day! hah! You are amazing.

    Reply

  4. Mrs C
    May 14, 2014 @ 10:49:23

    I’m glad you managed to meet a fellow blogger in person.. I’m a bit envious of Donloree ๐Ÿ™‚ for the opportunity to meet you. One day hopefully it would be my turn. I have been up to my neck the past month as my parents were in town. They left yesterday back to Kuala Lumpur and I can now get back to blogging again. It was an interesting and memorable month to us all. Take care, Elaine xxx

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

