Long distance hugs!

I love hugs and I’ve been receiving lots of them lately; tentative, gentle hugs from friends who are being ultra careful not to hurt me. One friend, a huge teddy bear kind of guy, tells me that he’s reserving one of his giant bear hugs for me and that I can have it as soon as I’m feeling a little less fragile!

I’ve also been receiving lots of long distance hugs in emails and messages from around the world. There are the traditional Xs and Os, representing kisses and hugs, at the end of some of the messages and the more modern brackets ( ) or (( )) in others. I appreciate every one of them.

Today, I received the most unique and perhaps the most special long distance hugs ever. I had a long nap this morning and after lunch, Richard and I decided to try a walk to the post office. It was great to be out and about on a beautiful spring afternoon. There was a parcel card in our mailbox so we stopped into the office to see what had arrived. The post mistress handed me a large brown envelope with a paper heart glued to the front. It was addressed to Gram DeBock and the return address indicated that it was from our grandsons, Sam and Nate, in Vancouver.

“I knew this one was special,” she said. “So I didn’t want to bend it to fit it into your box!”

I can never wait until I get home to open exciting looking mail so we walked across the corner to our little Main Street Park and sat on a bench overlooking Sedgewick’s tiny downtown area while I opened my special envelope. Look what slipped out!

IMG_3758

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    May 14, 2014 @ 16:58:58

    Ok now I am crying again!

    Reply

  2. crazyanneca
    May 14, 2014 @ 19:04:49

    That brought tears to my eyes. How sweet of them. Anne

    Reply

  3. Jan Bergseth
    May 15, 2014 @ 12:18:16

    That’s wonderful.

    Reply

  4. Shmruthi
    May 15, 2014 @ 22:49:21

    This is the cutest thing ever! ❀ A very warm hug all the way from the other side of the world, Elaine πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Mrs C
    May 17, 2014 @ 00:18:24

    Awww, these are one of the things in life that is free and no one can take them away from you! You are blessed in many way, ways that even some of the healthiest persons in the world don’t. Family and love are everything and you have plenty! πŸ™‚ Hugs as always and one day hopefully with God’s willing, the real one will arrive πŸ˜‰ who knows?

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

