High flying adventure

IMG_4409We crossed another item off my unwritten bucket list today. Last Christmas, there was a little gift box under the tree for Richard and I from our youngest son, Nate. When we opened it, we found a tiny toy helicopter and a note promising us a ride in a real one! I was absolutely thrilled! It may seem odd for a girl who spent most of her life being afraid of heights to want to fly in a helicopter but it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. Nate’s original plan was that we would fly over when he was on one of his mountain climbing expeditions but with our crazy schedule this year and some recent developments in his own life, we weren’t able to make that work. Instead, he spent time visiting Dad in hospital in Edmonton today freeing us up for this afternoon’s adventure.

As we drove west of Calgary to the heli tours site near Canmore, the prairie and the foothills were bathed in sunshine and the fall colours shone. I could hardly wait to see them from above. The helicopter carried six passengers and when we were asked which brave soul would volunteer to sit in the co-pilot seat, I was ready. My hand shot up instantly! Soon I was seated in the glass bubble with the pilot at my side.

The flight was great! Take off was incredibly smooth and I literally didn’t feel a thing when the chopper set down. I likened it to riding on a feather! I’d been told how incredibly noisy helicopters are but with our earphones on, sound wasn’t a problem at all.

A strong wind kept us from flying into the mountains where turbulence might have been frightful. Instead, we skirted along the foothills enjoying views of the mountains to the west and the wide open prairie to the east. We followed the Bow River for a bit and saw herds of buffalo and wild horses below.

IMG_4362_2

IMG_4383

Our sightseeing tour included a champagne picnic which we enjoyed on a grassy bluff overlooking the river with rapids churning below. We were sheltered from the wind and it was oh, so relaxing!

IMG_4399

IMG_4401

IMG_4402

So what’s next on my bucket list? I’m not sure but I do know that it includes another high flying adventure… a ride in a hot air balloon!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan Bergseth
    Oct 04, 2014 @ 22:34:34

    Awesome!!

    Reply

  2. Robin
    Oct 04, 2014 @ 23:45:34

    Sam and Nate both asked to do a hot air ballon ride this week. Sam is going to build them from chairs, rope and balloons. I am sure he will build you one too. He has to think about building one that fits more than one person but he could have a one person one ready if I gave him the parts.

    Reply

  3. Mell
    Oct 07, 2014 @ 14:51:22

    Oh Wow! What a wonderful experience…

    Reply

  4. Moritz
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 13:50:18

    Wow, what an amazing experience. Such a lovely present by your son 🙂

    Reply

  5. Trackback: My “Have Done” list | Following Augustine

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

