Writer’s block

Yikes! It’s been almost a month since I posted anything here. I’m pretty sure this has been the longest dry spell since I started blogging seven years ago. Yes, my blog had a birthday earlier this month and I didn’t even acknowledge it with a post.

Lest any of my faithful readers begin to worry that something is seriously wrong, let me assure you that I’m fine. I did come down with a nasty cold immediately following my last treatment and I was under the weather for a little while but I blame the blog’s silence on a combination of the busyness of the season and writer’s block. It seems I simply ran out of things to say!

As I’ve mentioned before, I think the secret to Following Augustine’s longevity is its eclectic nature. Though I’ve loved sharing our experiences in faraway places, it’s been more than a travel blog. Family often shows up but it isn’t a mommy blog and while I occasionally focus on clothing, shoes or accessories, it definitely isn’t a fashion blog. Over the past fifteen and a half months, I’ve used the blog to share my cancer journey but it’s always been about more than that. My faith permeates every part of my life, including what I write, but this isn’t a religion blog either. Occasionally, I climb up on my soapbox and write about a cause that I feel strongly about but it’s definitely not a political or an activist blog. It really is a bit of many things and as a result, I can usually think of something to write about!

Lately, however, my writing brain has been blank! I have a feeling that that isn’t going to last though and I’m certainly not ready to call it quits! I’m in the middle of packing suitcases again and we’ll soon be off to Vancouver to spend Christmas with family there. If that doesn’t provide me with inspiration, I’m pretty sure our trip to Mexico in January will!

In the meantime, let me leave you with a cute conversation that our six-year-old grandson had with his parents lately.

Drew: I wonder how old Mickey Mouse is.
Mommy: Mickey Mouse is very old.
Daddy: Like older than Grammas and Grandpas.
Drew: Wow! Like 21?

Here’s my slightly older than 21 hubby with Drew and his two younger siblings on our recent pre-Christmas visit to Calgary.

IMG_4597

 

10 thoughts on “Writer’s block

  1. Hahaha, the dialogue was too cute! I’ve been slow in keeping up with my blog too.. I don’t know, ever since summer something feels like missing.. mojo, I am sure. Just don’t have the mood to get dressed up and take pictures and all… I hope new year brings new spirit and inspiration. I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and family a very blessed and serene X’mas and a better year ahead. We are full house here with relatives coming in from Italy celebrating with us!

    • Have a wonderful Christmas, Ida! We are in Vancouver with our son, daughter-in-law and two of our grandchildren. My father and brother will join us for Christmas dinner tomorrow.

      I’ll look for your blog in the new year! Perhaps we’ll both find new inspiration.

  2. The dialogue made me laugh..very cute! I’ve missed reading your blog. I’ve been on hiatus from the blogging world for about a year. Your blog was one of the first I looked up after signing into wordpress again. Hope this holiday season is a blessed one!

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

