Letting it go… with thanksgiving and hope

In just a few hours, 2014 will be forever behind us. For me, it was a year filled with challenges and loss. At the beginning of the year, my smile looked like this

me March - Version 2

but now, it looks like this.

IMG_4401 - Version 4

Like the rest of me, it’s a little worse for wear, but thankfully I still have much to smile about. As I reflect on the struggles of the past year, I’m ready to sing the refrain from Frozen that I, like most parents and grandparents, have heard a bazillion times this year.

Let it go, let it go!

 
Yes, I’m ready to let go of the negatives of 2014. Instead of dwelling on those things, I choose to hang on to the things that I have to be thankful for.

First and foremost, I’m thankful for a personal relationship with a God who never lets go of me! At the beginning of my cancer journey, He promised to take care of me and he has done just that. I’m thankful for the amazing team of medical people that He’s placed in my life and for the expertise He’s given each one of them.

I’m thankful beyond measure for the love and support of my amazing husband who has walked every step of the journey with me and who helps me hang on when I reach the end of my rope.

I’m thankful for my children, now young adults who make me very proud, and for my darling grandchildren. Being present for Simon’s birth in mid March was definitely one of the highlights of 2014!

Drew & Simon     Jami-Lee
Drew and Simon                                        Jami-Lee

Nate     Sam
Nate                                                             Sam

I’m thankful that my father didn’t give up on life when Mom died in June and for the fact that he’s made a remarkable recovery from the stroke that he suffered in September. I’m thankful that we’ve been able to spend time with him this Christmas season.

I’m thankful for the fact that 2014 was the year that I finally reconnected with a cousin who lived with us for awhile when she was a toddler and I was a teen. Though she lives about 4000 km away, it’s been great having ‘little sis’ back in my life!

I’m thankful for amazing friends both near and far including those of you I’ve only met through blogging. I’m especially thankful for the other three-quarters of the Rav 4 and the fact that they convinced me to go to Vegas with them in November!

Rav4

          photo credit:  Sheryl Culbert

 
Yes, even in a year like 2014, I’ve had much to be thankful for. Now’s a good time to let go of all the rest and to look forward to a brand new year. I choose to step into 2015 with hope.

I hope that my treatments continue to be successful and that they become less frequent. That alone would make 2015 a less crazy year! I hope that we can get through an entire year without a family crisis of any kind. I hope that I can enjoy each moment not worrying about the things over which I have no control and I hope that a year from now, I can once more look back with thanksgiving.

What do you have to be thankful for this year? What do you need to let go of? What are some of your hopes for the New Year?
 

happy-new-year-2015-image-1024x679

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 13:14:01

    Awesome!! You are an amazing woman of God and an inspiration to me and a kazillion others!
    May our Lord bless you and Rich in every way. May good health and prosperity be yours throughout 2015 and always. May unimaginable joy and peace be poured into and through you by the power of the Holy Spirit!
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Reply

  2. Glenys
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 13:16:16

    Oops – forgot to sign. I dislike anonymous.

    Reply

    • edebock
      Jan 01, 2015 @ 13:21:39

      Thank you, Glenys! I truly believe that God can use even the difficult circumstances of life for good and I look forward to seeing how he’s going to do that in 2015.

      Reply

  3. JAF shop|blog
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 09:40:23

    Wow amazing blog elaine thanks so much. You are an inspiration!

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

