Solitude

IMG_5153

Richard and I spent the past couple of days doing three of the things that we most enjoy at this time of year… camping, hiking and geocaching.

Big Knife Provincial Park, located in central east Alberta where Big Knife Creek flows into the Battle River, is less than an hour from home for us. Like many locations on the Canadian prairie, it takes it’s name from our native history. Two hundred years ago, the Blackfoot and Cree who inhabited the area were bitter enemies. According to legend, Big Man, a Cree, and Knife, a Blackfoot, fought near the banks of the creek, which at this time of year is little more than a muddy breeding ground for mosquitoes. Apparently both warriors died in the battle.

Though the campground and day use areas are probably somewhat busier on weekends and during the height of the summer, the park was almost empty while we were there providing us the peace and solitude we were looking for. We spent several hours on Wednesday tramping the River Flats trail system and yesterday we hiked the Highland trails. Though my stamina isn’t quite what I’m used to it being and we stopped to rest more often than we might have in the past, I was impressed that I could quite easily hike for several hours a day without completely wearing out.

The trails were far from challenging, mostly level and grass covered. With the sun shining overhead, tiny wildflowers strewn along our path, butterflies flitting around our ankles, birds singing in the nearby trees, and the sweet musky scent of the silver willow bushes wafting on the breeze, walking was a delight. We did do a bit of “real” hiking though, first leaving the River Flats trails to get a close-up view of the nearby hoodoos, then deciding to climb a steep hill and follow a narrow animal track along the top of a bluff that would have scared me out of my wits a few years ago before I overcame my fear of heights.

IMG_5151

IMG_5157

IMG_5166

IMG_5170

Only one of the eleven geocaches hidden throughout the park eluded us. It was suppose to be at the end of that narrow animal track, though the cacher who placed it recommended coming at it from the other direction. We searched a wide area around the given coordinates but came up empty handed. The view was spectacular though and the trek well worth it.

IMG_5171

There’s a cache up there somewhere… maybe

Not all of the caches were out on the trails. Shortly before dusk, we spotted a beaver in the water’s edge munching on a stick while we were searching for the one that’s hidden not too far from the boat launch. I couldn’t get close enough to get a good photo, but we stood and watched him until he quietly slid into the water and swam away.

IMG_5177

Storm brewing

I love the solitude of nature; no TV, no telephone, and no internet, but I also love the conveniences of modern day camping. On Wednesday night, a storm blew in bringing much needed rain to the surrounding countryside but we were snug and warm in our trailer bed as the thunder crashed and lightning flashed. It had blown over long before morning came and oh, how well I slept!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenys
    May 29, 2015 @ 20:44:58

    Sounds like a fun time. Enjoy the photos – a little bit of “home”.
    I love being in the trailer bed, listening to a good thunderstorm and hearing the rain on the roof, knowing I’m safe and sound. (Much better than the tent trailer!!)
    See you at Camp?

    Reply

    • edebock
      May 29, 2015 @ 21:03:22

      We won’t be at family camp this year, Glenys. Instead, we’ll be at a similar camp on Keats Island off the coast of BC with Matt, Robin and the boys. It’s unfortunate that it falls the same week.

      Reply

  2. dkproctor
    May 29, 2015 @ 22:07:28

    I loved our time down there as well this past weekend. Sunday couples study should happen on a regular basis down there! Glad you got to hike, we will take the time the next time we are down there to geocache and hike too!

    Reply

  3. chedeman
    May 30, 2015 @ 05:22:48

    Makes me homesick for the prairies 🙂 Looks like you had a great time!

    Reply

  4. crazyanneca
    May 30, 2015 @ 19:07:36

    I too am homesick for the prairies. We’ve had such miserably hot humid weather my favourite place is inside my air conditioned house.

    Reply

  5. hawaii52
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 11:49:36

    Just surfing around and found you here! I just moved to southwest Manitoba from Vancouver last fall. It has been interesting so far!

    Reply

    • edebock
      Jun 02, 2015 @ 11:56:34

      I’m glad you found my blog and took the time to leave a comment! I hope you’ll be back. I spent my teen years in Vancouver and still have family there. It took quite some time for me to see the beauty in the prairie. It’s so much less dramatic than the coast, but it definitely has an allure of its own.

      Reply

      • hawaii52
        Jun 02, 2015 @ 12:21:57

        Yesterday the sky roared for 3/4s of an hour as this storm cell passed by, dumping torrents of water everywhere. The gutters on the house resembled waterfalls for a while…lol… The tomatoes I planted the day before are in shock but look like they will survive.
        I’m sure the nearby lake level went up a few more inches the already 4 foot above average level that it is already at and with more rain in the forecast for today and tonight it is starting off as a wet summer.
        I hope the farmers and their plants can survive, perhaps a request to the Great Spirit is in order?
        So far it is hardly ordinary for me!

        Reply

        • edebock
          Jun 02, 2015 @ 13:26:47

          We are experiencing quite the opposite here on the Alberta side of the prairie. It’s been terribly dry and the farmers are worried about whether their newly seeded crops will germinate at all with so little moisture in the soil. The storm while we were camping brought the first rain in a long time, but it was short-lived and we’re definitely praying for more.

          Reply

          • hawaii52
            Jun 03, 2015 @ 21:06:28

            You can have some if not all of our water, the lake is overflowing and the ground is supersaturated. Basement has sprung a couple of leaks, as I said it’s my first year here and I can see why this house was such a “good” deal now! ha ha

            Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

