You are what you wear

What we wear affects the way we feel. Have you ever watched a little girl dance and twirl while her pretty skirt swirls around her? Her joy simply overflows. The same is true of we adults. As superficial as it may sound, the right dress or a stunning pair of shoes can be just what a woman needs to give her the confidence to rock an important interview or a boardroom presentation.

Taking care with how you dress also sends a message that you care about yourself. “If I throw on a large, over sized T-shirt and do not fix my hair or makeup, then the message to me and others is that I don’t care or matter,” writes popular fashion blogger, Pam Lutrell.

Over recent years, my interest in fashion has grown and I’ve given more thought to what my clothing says about me, but there’s an even finer way of dressing that is much more important to me.

“As God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.” Colossians 3:12 NIV

I’m not in the habit of making New Years resolutions, but I do want my 2016 wardrobe to include:

  • compassion ~ I want my life to exhibit sensitivity and concern for the sufferings or misfortunes of others.
  • kindness ~ I want to treat others with warmth and affection.
  • humility ~ I want to accept myself as I truly am, but not consider myself better than anyone else.
  • gentleness ~ I want to treat others with tenderness and be a calming influence.
  • patience ~ I want to have the grace to accept whatever happens in life without anger or complaint.

By clothing myself in these basic items, I hope to experience the joy of the little girl in the swirling skirt, the confidence of the successful businesswoman and the peace that comes from living in harmony with those around me.

I wish the same for you in the New Year!

Beauty2

 

4 thoughts on “You are what you wear

  1. Amen!
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!
    Praying you and Richard will be blessed in 2016 with good health, love, joy, peace….and all the other good stuff our Lord has planned for you!!

  2. So much agree with you in this post…good resolutions!!! 😊😊 Best wishes to you both for a good year in 2016!❤️❤️❤️

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

