Nature photo challenge

A week ago, a friend and former student of mine nominated me to take part in a Facebook nature photo challenge. The idea was to post one nature or wildlife photograph every day for seven days and to nominate one other person on each of those days to take up the challenge.

I am very much an amateur photographer. In fact if there was a word for less than amateur, that would probably be me, but I love playing with my camera and once in awhile I even manage to take a really great photo. I’m quite certain that that’s because I’m fortunate enough to live in the age of digital photography and cameras that make all the tough choices for me!

Accepting the challenge sent me out into that bright, sunny January morning with my brand new camera in hand. At -5ºC, it was unseasonably warm, and since I live on the edge of a very tiny town, a few minutes of crunching over the newly fallen snow took me to an area where it was easy to snap several nature shots. Next, the challenge sent me searching through my older photos for some of my favourites.

For those of you who aren’t my friends on Facebook, here are my seven selections:

#1   This is my favourite shot from that sunny winter walk. The seeds against the brilliant blue sky hold hope of spring and new life to come. 

#1

#2   This one was taken on a hike in the hills near Hardisty, Alberta in late September.

#2

#3   I’ve always said that you can take the girl away from the ocean, but you can’t take the sea salt out of her blood! A series of nature photos from me wouldn’t be complete without at least one ocean scene. This one was taken at Porteau Cove Provincial Park on Howe Sound, just a short drive north of Vancouver, BC.

#3

#4   This is probably my all time favourite macro photo.

#4

#5   I love the colours of fall. Though they’re more subdued here on the prairie than in some other parts of Canada, there’s still much beauty to be found at that time of year. This one was taken on a hike near Gwynne, Alberta.

#5

#6   I wanted to include at least one photo from our international travels in this series, so here’s The Old Man By The Sea on the Pacific island of Saipan.

#6

#7   Choosing the final picture for this seven day challenge was difficult as there were so many possibilities! I finally chose this one because nature isn’t always beautiful scenery. Sometimes it’s weird & wacky creatures like this mantis that  I also photographed on the island of Saipan!

IMG_7486

All of these photos were taken with easy to use Canon point and shoot cameras.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mistonthemeadow
    Jan 18, 2016 @ 10:16:37

    Although I’m allergic to bees I really love that picture!
    Nr. 5 is also really great 🙂

    Reply

  2. mistonthemeadow
    Jan 18, 2016 @ 10:18:10

    Correction 😛 doesn’t seem to be a bee after all xp still love it though 😉

    Reply

  3. Geetanjali
    Jan 22, 2016 @ 05:59:33

    I especially like pictures 3,4,5, and 6! They’re very calming to look at after the long week I’ve just had! 🙂

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

