Art on my arm

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 11.07.24 PM 3No, I’m not talking about a tattoo! I’m actually referring to a favourite bracelet that is, in fact, a piece of wearable art.

When I arrived at Edmonton’s Cross Cancer Institute for my treatment last fall, there was an Art Society of Strathcona County show and sale going on in the main reception area. Of course, I had to stop and take a look! There were several paintings that caught my eye, but I especially admired a unique bracelet made by artist, Barbara Mitchell.

IMG_1878

Imagine my surprise on Christmas morning when I opened a gift from my husband, who was with me that day at the Cross, and discovered the beautiful bracelet inside! Sneaky guy!

People often comment on it and because it has a somewhat Asian look, they usually assume that I got it when we lived in China or Japan. Their surprise at learning that it actually originated much closer to home led me to contact the artist and ask her about the process she used to make it.

Barbara graciously replied explaining the process that she uses for two different types of bracelets.

I take every single piece of glass in the bracelets…and I turn them over, handpaint on them using inks, mica powders, luminere, etc…then I seal them and after it dries I glue on a piece of white cardboard which brings the colors out. Then I file them all and glue them into the bracelet blanks.

In the case of your lovely bracelet, I take my original paintings or tile art paintings…and I make a copy of them…seal it…file it into the round or oval shape…glue it into the bracelet. It’s all alot of work but I enjoy doing it.

IMG_1485 - Version 2

I love having Peace, Hope, Faith and Believe circling my wrist!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Retirementallychallenged.com
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 06:17:30

    Where would we be without artists? They see something where there is nothing… then create it. Beautiful bracelet!

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

