Frugal fashionista!

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 11.07.24 PM 3I looked through my closets yesterday and counted 24 garments purchased at our two nearest thrift stores; the Good As New here in Sedgewick and Twice Nice in the neighbouring town of Killam. Add to that a couple of belts, several scarves, a pair of shoes and a favourite necklace and I am clearly a frugal fashionista!

In our area there’s no stigma attached to shopping second hand. In fact, the shops are social gathering places frequented by people of every social and economic status and, for many of us, searching their racks for bargains has become a delightful game.

Richard and I were invited to the home of friends for dessert and drinks last evening. Here’s what I chose to wear.

IMG_1923

The sleeveless cowl neck top (originally from Reitmans), the necklace and the shoes were all purchased at the Good As New for a grand total of $9. The pants were bought new a couple of summers ago.

Over the next few Fridays, I’ll be sharing more of my thrift store finds, evidence that it’s possible to dress with style even on a limited budget.

What about you? Do you shop thrift stores too?

6 thoughts on “Frugal fashionista!

  1. I love shopping at thrift stores: everything in my size is in one place so I don’t have to spend hours looking at every rack; most of the clothing has been prewarn and thus pre-shrunk; the fabric is softer … and to top it off you save a bundle.

    I once bought a parka for a loonie and went over to a friend’s house. When I asked how they liked my new coat for a buck her husband said, “It looks better on you than it did on me.” The trouble with small communities.

  2. Pingback: Brand new, but second-hand | Following Augustine

  3. Pingback: One year! | Following Augustine

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

