70s girl

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 11.07.24 PM 3When we lived in Japan in 2008 and 2009, lightweight, loose-fitting tops made of almost sheer fabric were very popular amongst the Japanese women. Many of them had floral patterns. I bought this one at a tiny, hole-in-the-wall shop around the corner from one of our main schools. It usually had a rack of clothing on the sidewalk out front and I often stopped to take a look on my way by.

Until this week, I hadn’t worn this in a long time, but I couldn’t quite make myself part with it as it was one of many reminders of the wonderful time we had in Japan. In keeping with my commitment not to keep things that I don’t wear, however, I pulled it out of the closet earlier this week and put it on. I was immediately glad that I’d kept it. Worn over a neutral camisole, it was cool and comfortable in the summer heat which doesn’t come close to the heat and humidity we endured at this time of year in Japan.

IMG_2167

Rather than transporting me back to Japan, it took me all the way back to the peasant tops I was so fond of in the early 1970s! I know I’m dating myself, but I really don’t mind. I’ve worn some things over the years that would make me cringe now, but I really liked the comfortable boho chic style that I wore in the 70s and I guess I still do!

I sewed most of my own clothes back then. I wish I had some pictures to share, but here are a few of the Simplicity patterns that I might have chosen.

Yes, I guess I’m still a 70s girl at heart!

IMG_2160

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crazyanneca
    Aug 19, 2016 @ 07:08:17

    very flattering and looks cool

    Reply

  2. Dorah A. K.
    Aug 19, 2016 @ 14:34:28

    I remember sewing a couple of these myself — I wish I could say I was a good seamstress but it was done under duress for a home economics class (yes, they had those back then!) But I loved these loose flowing styles. Cool!

    Reply

  3. Glenys
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 19:46:09

    Me,too

    Reply

  4. maureenlyons2013
    Aug 22, 2016 @ 21:54:27

    And a lovely at that, Elaine! xox

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Chokers are back! | Following Augustine

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

