Chokers are back!

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 11.07.24 PM 3

Last week’s 70s girl post got me thinking about another favourite style from that era that has returned in recent months. Chokers are back! Or did they ever really go away? They were popular in the 70s, again in the 90s, and now they’re being seen yet again.

One of my favourite chokers of the 70s was a cameo on a wide velvet ribbon. Another was a leather cord with wooden beads. Those were pretty typical of the era and looked good with the flowing tops and dresses of the day.

The choker of the 90s often had an edgier, gothic look. I think my daughter was in junior high when she wore one that looked exactly like a shiny black dog collar. I’d post a picture, but I suspect she’d hate me for it!

Today’s chokers are more reminiscent of the 70s. Here are a few examples:

While I’m definitely not a proponent of age related fashion rules, it’s my personal opinion that chokers usually look best on the young. Because the skin on our necks is thinner than elsewhere, it tends to loosen and wrinkle earlier. As a result, our necks may look older than the rest of our bodies. Why draw attention to that?

On the other hand, I recently found this one in my jewelry box and I’ve decided to wear it again. Made of pewter and gold plate, it was a gift from a good friend back in the late 70s. It’s a bit longer than most chokers and it’s shape tends to draw the eye down, away from my 63 year old neck. IMG_20160825_171601778

Do you have any favourite fashions from days gone by? Would you wear them today?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BuildMumaHouse
    Aug 26, 2016 @ 08:50:19

    Platforms yes, Oxford bags yes, chokers yes, maxi skirts yes

    Reply

  2. bonnyssoulfood
    Jan 05, 2017 @ 16:52:40

    They are all amazing, I just love to wear them.:) Check out my latest post, I wore one simple choker with a velvet dress. Take care.;)
    http://www.bonnyssoulfood.wordpress.com

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

