If you could choose only one makeup product, what would it be?

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 11.07.24 PM 3 I tend to be a minimalist when it comes to makeup, but there’s one product I can’t be without. I’m not talking skin care products here, just makeup. I’d go completely makeup free before I’d dream of giving up my skin cleanser, day lotion or night cream, but if I had to choose just one makeup product, it would be mascara. I feel naked without it!

Given my pale complexion, blush or bronzer might be a wiser choice, but I would definitely choose mascara over either one of those. Perhaps that’s because my deep set eyes have been hidden behind glasses for most of my life. A light application on the upper lashes gives them definition and makes me look more awake while still appearing very natural.

cg_clump_crusher_mascara_waterproofI’ve been using Cover Girl’s Clump Crusher Water Resistant Mascara by Lashblast for quite awhile and I find it very satisfactory. It’s reasonably priced and stays on well. I prefer a water resistant mascara over a waterproof one because it’s much easier to remove, but it doesn’t smudge easily and doesn’t run if my eyes water or I shed a few tears. I wear black brown as I find it less harsh and more natural looking than black.

Keep in mind that mascara has the shortest shelf life of all beauty products and should be replaced every two or three months, sooner if it starts to smell. When I open a new mascara, I always use a Sharpie to mark the month on the bottom of the tube so that I remember when it’s time to replace it.

Now it’s your turn. If you could choose only one makeup product, what would it be and why? 

Please note: This is not a paid endorsement.
2 thoughts on “If you could choose only one makeup product, what would it be?

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

