What do you look for in a fashion retailer?

logo

Several months ago, one of my favourite fashion bloggers, Pam Lutrell at over50feeling40 wrote an article for Midlife Boulevard entitled “What Retailers Need to Know From The Midlife Woman“. It was a great conversation starter and it certainly got me thinking about what my preferences are when I shop for clothes.

What do you look for in a fashion retailer? 

Quality and price are always my first considerations. I like to shop for clothing that’s stylish and up-to-date without being too trendy. As a woman in my 60s, I’m not trying to look like a teenager, but I definitely don’t want to look matronly either.

I like a store that’s clean and well lit with attractive displays and not overcrowded. I rarely shop for clothing in department stores because there’s just too much to choose from. The racks are usually overfilled and customer service is almost non-existent.

I like to be greeted by staff who are friendly and helpful without being pushy or overbearing. I don’t want to hovered over, but neither do I want to feel invisible. If the sales associates spend their time standing behind the counter talking about last night’s date, I probably won’t hang around long. I also expect to be treated with respect and as a valued customer regardless of how much or how little I spend.

Dressing rooms are an important part of the shopping experience. They should be well lit, large enough to move around in and have somewhere to put my purse and belongings. A three way mirror in a well lit spot near the dressing rooms is absolutely essential.

Lastly, music that’s loud and intrusive is definitely a deterrent. I want to be able to hear myself think! Something quiet and relaxing in the background creates the kind of atmosphere that I appreciate in a clothing store.

What do you look for in a fashion retailer?

featured-news

image
I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

