Favourite fashion blogs for women of a certain age

logoAs a woman of a certain age, most of the fashion blogs that I follow are written for women over the age of 40. Though I also like to look at what the younger set has to offer, women of my generation tend to look at fashion differently. We aren’t trying to look younger. In fact, we want to celebrate who we have become. We’re interested in expressing our unique personalities through how we dress, but at the same time, we face the reality of living in older bodies.

Today I’m going to introduce 4 of my favourite fashion blogs written by and for more mature women.

Over 50 Feeling 40

 

pam

I’ve been following Pam Lutrell at Over 50 Feeling 40 for several years. Shortly after turning 50, Pam received her new drivers license in the mail and was shocked by the appearance of the woman in the picture. That moment inspired a determination to reinvent herself, something that she has done with great success. Through her blog she carries out her mission “to inspire women over 50 to look and feel their best… to strive to be women of strength and dignity…and to enjoy every single day of life…one day at a time.” Since turning 60, Pam has reinvented herself yet again, leaving her job as a high school journalism teacher and more recently, taking on the role of editor of San Antonio Woman magazine. Though Pam and I lead very different lives, have different body shapes, and different personal styles, I have learned a great deal from her.   

A Well Styled Life

 

photo2-3-1

After a successful career as principal buyer and manager for several independent women’s boutiques in Northern California, Jennifer Connolly of A Well Styled Life trained to be a professional image consultant and personal stylist. She brings that expertise to her blog where she strives to help midlife women look their best while confronting the challenges that accompany this stage of life. Pam and Jennifer collaborate on a weekly feature called “Hit Your Style Sweet Spot” where they choose a topic and each write a blog post about it. Jennifer loves to travel and in the past year, she and her hubby have purchased a travel trailer, so we have more in common than just our passion for fashion.

That’s Not My Age

 

alyson-walsh-mayfair000025-rtsc-3

British freelance journalist and former fashion editor, Alyson Walsh, has been writing That’s Not My Age since 2008. Her motto is “you don’t have to have youth to have style.” She is the author of Style Forever: The Grown-Up Guide to Looking Fabulous and is presently working on a second book. Alyson’s creative, but casual style is quite similar to my own and I have found lots to inspire me on her blog. After all, I have to love a woman who spends most of her life in jeans, as I do, and yet is as glamorous as Alyson!

 High Heels in the Wilderness

 

susan

 

Like me, fellow Canadian Susan Burpee of Ottawa, Ontario writes about much more than fashion on her blog, High Heels in the Wilderness. In fact, Sue and I have a lot in common. Also a retired school teacher, her passions include books, fashion, travel, and staying fit. When she’s not writing about fashion, she might be writing a book review, an intelligent opinion piece or telling about a recent hike or a trip she’s been on. If we ever had the opportunity to sit down together over a cup of tea, I’m sure we’d have no end of things to talk about!

While those four are my favourites and I follow them faithfully, here some links to a few other fashion blogs for the mature woman that I’ve been reading lately and that might also interest you:

Vicki Archer

chic at any age

Accidental Icon

Not Dead Yet

Do you have any favourites that aren’t listed here?

10 thoughts on “Favourite fashion blogs for women of a certain age

  1. Oh Elaine…how sweet of you! Thank you for including me and for being such a faithful reader. I appreciate each read and comment.

  2. Thanks for this, Elaine. I’m honoured to be included with such illustrious bloggers. And so happy that I discovered the wonderful community of women reading and writing blogs for women of our age.

  3. Pingback: One year! | Following Augustine

  4. Pingback: Stepping out of your fashion comfort zone | Following Augustine

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

