Retirement dressing

logoIt’s hard to believe that it’s been almost ten years since Richard and I walked out of our respective classrooms and entered a new phase of life called retirement! That meant I no longer needed a working wardrobe. I spent most of my career teaching elementary school, so my workwear wasn’t as formal as some women’s, but I was a professional and it was important to dress like one. Now I no longer needed to, so what should I wear?

To me, retirement meant a new and exciting life was opening up in front of me. I didn’t feel old and I certainly didn’t want to look frumpy! I didn’t need a working wardrobe, but I wasn’t happy to spend the rest of my life wearing the shapeless t-shirts and sweatshirts that I’d once worn during my out of school hours. I began to take a greater interest in fashion and now I would call my retirement style dressy casual.

IMG_4017

Yesterday, we were reminded that age is creeping up on us. We’ve been fortunate to be able to stay on the excellent Alberta teacher’s benefit plan for the first ten years of our retirement, but next fall I turn 65, the magic age at which we must transfer to the retired teacher’s plan. That’s why we were in Edmonton yesterday to meet with a representative of the retired teacher’s association. Here’s what I chose to wear:

IMG_4017 - Version 4

It was the first day this spring that it was warm enough to be out and about without a jacket. A light sweater in pink, one of this season’s most popular colours, was a perfect topper for the Cleo Top from cabi’s last season. Worn with dark wash jeans from Old Navy, this is what retirement wear looks like to me.

IMG_4026

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LINDA KREAMER
    Apr 07, 2017 @ 21:13:54

    Funny thing Elaine, What to wear in Retirement is what led me to Jockey P2P and now cabi.
    I hope you don’t mind if I share A little Food For Thought…
    Style is Very Personal. It has Nothing to do with Fashion. Fashion is Over Quickly, Style is Forever… oh and … You’re never Fully Dressed Without a Smile 🙂

    Linda Kreamer,
    Your Independent cabi Stylist

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Fast fashion is not frugal! | Following Augustine

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

