The dots keep disappearing!

My life is broken into 6 month, 3 month, and 28 day units with a treatment every 6 months, a scan every 3 months, and an injection every 28 days. Last Tuesday, was treatment day followed by a scan early the next morning. I usually get the results right away, but this time the doctor wasn’t going to be in until later in the day and because no one was expecting anything worrisome, it was suggested that I not wait around to talk with him. Instead, I got the results over the phone today and they were definitely worth waiting for!

Six months ago, we heard the good news that one of the five tumours that I had at diagnosis was no longer showing up on the scan. There were only four black dots instead of five. This time, apparently there are only three! Another one seems to have disappeared! The primary (original) tumour in my colon as well as one of the three on my liver are no longer visible! That doesn’t necessarily mean that they’re gone. They could be, but what we do know for sure is that, at the very least, they’re so dead that they are no longer absorbing any of the radioactive substance that I’m treated with! In addition, two of the remaining three tumours are smaller than they were 6 months ago! That’s a lot of exclamation marks, but that’s a lot of good news!

My cancer is still considered incurable but when we spoke with the doctor prior to Tuesday’s treatment, he did tell us that people who get as far as I have (8 treatments) with this kind of success seem to have a very good chance of living a quality life for a long time. That’s a pretty vague prognosis, but it’s about the best they can say at this point and it’s good enough for me. It’s called hope; a lot more hope than I had a couple of years ago!

I would be remiss not to mention that though I have utmost appreciation for the medical advances that have brought us to this point and for those who are involved in providing my care, I also serve a miracle working God “who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine” and I give him full credit and glory for today’s good news! (Ephesians 3:20)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ronny Allan
    May 09, 2017 @ 02:14:36

    glad to hear what seems like good news!

    Reply

  2. Ronali
    May 09, 2017 @ 07:44:05

    Great news

    Reply

  3. crazyanneca
    May 09, 2017 @ 07:47:29

    That is fantastic news. I too believe there is a higher power helping the medical profession.

    Reply

    • edebock
      May 09, 2017 @ 08:58:40

      I’ve been engaged in an online conversation on this very topic this morning with someone who claims that if a doctor tells you that you have an incurable disease, it’s not true or biblical. She suggests that we we need to walk by faith believing God and His word and not men. I think I understand what she means, but my fear with that kind of teaching is that it sometimes leads people to reject medical treatment. I believe that God often chooses to heal through medical means. That isn’t to say that he can’t heal supernaturally, but when he has given us such amazing medical resources, I think it’s foolish to put him to the test by demanding that he heal through other means.

      Reply

  4. Anonymous
    May 09, 2017 @ 12:32:02

    Praise the Lord !

    Reply

I'd love to know that you were here! Please leave a comment.

