No longer a joke

At first, Donald Trump for president seemed like a joke, but it really isn’t funny anymore!

This isn’t a political blog. In fact, I’ve written over 700 posts and this is the first one to tackle anything truly political, but I simply cannot keep quiet over this one! How is it possible that a xenophobic, chauvinistic and bigoted reality TV star with a track record of multiple business and personal failures has become a serious contender for the presidency of one of the most powerful countries in the world? It would be laughable if it wasn’t so downright scary.

I’ve been told by a family member that comparing Donald Trump to Adolf Hitler is “extremely over the top”, but I’m far from alone in making such a comparison. When Holocaust survivors including 86-year-old Eva Schloss, step-sister of Anne Frank and survivor of Auschwitz, are saying the same thing, maybe someone should sit up and pay attention.

“If Donald Trump became the next president of the US it would be a complete disaster,” Ms Schloss told Newsweek magazine during an interview marking Holocaust Memorial Day on January 27.

Perhaps Yad Veshem, Jerusalem’s Holocaust memorial museum, is still too fresh in my mind, but when I hear the voice of Donald Trump declaring that he will rid America of Muslims, it seems to echo the anti-Jewish sentiments expressed by Hitler and other Nazi leaders long before they achieved the position of power that enabled them to carry out the slaughter of millions of innocent people. With Trump in the White House, is it really inconceivable that something that evil might happen again? Sadly, I don’t think so.

Then there are his absolutely ludicrous claims. Making campaign promises that are easier said than carried out is par for the course at election time, but Trump’s are definitely over the top. For example, he’s going to push China into making North Korea’s leader, Kim Jong Un, disappear!

“I would get China to make that guy disappear in one form or another very quickly,” said Trump in an interview on CBS’s This Morning show on February 10. Really? And just how, exactly, is he going to do that? Has he forgotten, perhaps, that China is the largest foreign holder of US debt? We’re talking 1.2 trillion dollars here, so if push comes to shove, who is going to have the upper hand? If Donald Trump thinks he’s going to force China do anything, he’d better think again!

As a Christian, I find Trump’s public conduct appalling. His vulgar and often demeaning comments are absolutely deplorable, not to mention his flip flopping on issues such as abortion. The fact that he, who once graced the cover of Playboy magazine and who participates in what he has flippantly referred to as “my little wine” and “my little cracker”, but who also states that he does not ask God for forgiveness for his sins, has a growing number of evangelicals amongst his supporters absolutely baffles me.

I’ve heard it said that people are supporting Trump because they don’t have a better option. What an incredibly sad statement. If, amongst the approximately 319 million Americans, they have not been able to come up with any better candidates than this one, that country truly is in a sorry state! Sadly, so is the rest of the world which is why I give a damn. I am not an American. I will not be voting in this election, but if I was, and Trump was truly the best option available, I’d be packing my bags and going somewhere else!

no-trump-e1437232248968

I invite respectful dialogue in the comments section as I would very much like to know what you think.

14 thoughts on “No longer a joke

  1. Well done, Elaine. While indications are that Clinton or Sanders would handily win over Trump, we all know polls can be very wrong. Trump as President puts the whole world in a very precarious position in my opinion. It is hard to believe Republicans would support him as a candidate just to keep a Democrat out of the White House.

  2. Well said. It is indeed a very scary thought, I wish I could vote, they need help. (by the way, I am back with another new blog, you may notice the name change from fb)

  3. Well said. When CBC commented last night about the party of Ab Lincoln I couldn’t believe my ears. Wasn’t he then the REPUBLICAN who led the abolition of slavery? I believe something has gone terribly wrong somewhere along the line. It isn’t the same party. We can’t vote but if he gets in it will affect the world.

  4. As an American who has been watching Trump’s rise with increasing alarm, I can tell you that it is also unfortunately very understandable. We have had a president for the last eight years who has divided the country along racial lines, who has dismissed the rights of the white middle class in favor of elitists and the grievance activists, and ignored the very real economic pain of millions who have seen their jobs go overseas or to foreign temporary visa holders or illegal immigrants. The Germans voted for the Nazi party out of the painful humiliation they suffered from the Versailles pact. Americans are voting for Trump out of the painful humiliation of a trampled white middle class that has lost hope. Prime pickings for a con man.

    • I really appreciate your comment! How sad that people feel so hopeless that they are willing to put their confidence in someone who would likely lead them deeper into despair.

  5. Well said again, Elaine, and also the comments. It certainly is a grave concern.
    What has happened to North America? Both countries were once called Christian nations. We certainly need to be praying for them!

  6. I also abhor Trump and all he stands for, and I understand Dorah A.K.’s comments that people need someone to help them get out of what they feel has been and will continue to be a hopeless situation. But I can’t agree that Obama has pandered to elitists and grievance activists and has forced businesses overseas. The basic rate of pay for the middle class has remained stagnant since the 70’s, and to top it off, Obama had the bad luck of taking office at one of the worst economic times in our history. He has helped to guide the country back into solvency, but we need more level-headed, egalitarian thinking in order to get the country back to a good and fair country for everyone. Trump is sure as heck not going to do that, and I’m not sure which Republican candidate would.

I welcome your opinion. Please leave a comment.