Leggings are not pants!

logoAt a recent gathering of women, I was delighted to hear a stylish young lady proclaim that “Leggings are not pants!” I couldn’t agree more. Leggings are one of the most comfortable things you can wear, but there are ways to wear this go-to wardrobe staple well and ways that they ought not to be worn.

In most cases, I’m not a proponent of fashion rules of any kind, but I do believe in dressing modestly and when it comes to leggings it shouldn’t even have to be said, but please cover your butt and cover your crotch! Even if they are completely opaque, unless you’re wearing them strictly as exercise wear, don’t wear leggings with a short top. Longer tops, tunics and oversized cardigans are the perfect choice. Secondly, for a more flattering look, choose a loose fitting top to offset the narrowness of the legs. A clingy, tight all over look really isn’t becoming.

Personally, I’m not particularly fond of brightly patterned leggings, but if you do like wearing snowflakes, reindeer or other colourful prints on your legs, just go for something simple up top. Here, I’ve paired my only patterned leggings, Safari from cabi, with a top that I bought in Japan several years ago to create a comfy, evening at home look.

img_3445

The skirt over pants trend is big this season. Growing up in the “olden days” when girls had to wear skirts to school, I remember wearing pants under my dresses on cold winter mornings and taking them off when I got to school. Perhaps that’s why I’ve had trouble adopting this look, but I do like the less bulky alternative of skirt over leggings.

img_2567

Here, in a photo clearly taken before winter arrived in Alberta, I’ve paired a lightweight pair of leggings with a simple pencil skirt that I’ve had for years and the thrifted black lace top that I first mentioned here.

Wondering what kind of footwear to wear with your leggings? There are plenty of options. For a casual, sporty look try wearing them with a cute pair of sneakers. For a dressier look pair good quality black leggings with something more formal, such as a blazer, and wear them with a dressy pair of sandals, flats or pumps. Leggings worn with an oversized cardigan and knee-high boots is a classic look for fall and winter. A pair of knitted or crocheted boot cuffs, all the rage at the moment, add a bit of polish to the look.

img_3436

The cardigan I’m wearing here was another thrift store purchase. The t-shirt, from Reitmans, was a gift from a friend, the leggings are from Jockey, and the slouchy black Brash boots are from Payless. I’ve had all these items for at least two or three years, but worn together they create a look that’s right on trend.

It’s a good idea to consider the length of your legs when deciding whether to wear heels or flats with your leggings. If you are short your legs will appear longer if you wear wedges, stilettos or high-heeled boots, but if you’re tall, like I am, flats will also look fine.

Just remember, though, whatever you wear them with, leggings are not pants!

8 thoughts on “Leggings are not pants!

  1. I finally broke down and bought some (at Giant Tiger for $3) not knowing whether I’d ever wear them at MY age. However, wore them with boots and a long sweater in winter and loved the effect. Now, I’m a little braver. Got another pair at Value Village and a really nice soft, long matching patterned sweater for a total of $9.00 . Love ’em.
    Also love your blog!

  2. Pingback: 3Cs… classy, confident, and comfortable | Following Augustine

  3. Pingback: Jeggings and pearls | Following Augustine

  4. I’m nearing 40 and, as much as I just roll my eyes at some of the things girls in their 20s will be wearing even to the supermarket (like, they must think?: it’s the same as being at either the gym or the beach???!), leggings (dress-ier AND really opaque black ones WITH an elongated-enough top) aren’t that much of a concern to me. During the early months of the pandemic in 2020, I’d gotten into the habit of living in them (practically) while working from home (it was great, in a way: dress for your morning home yoga routine or power walk….run out for coffee….sit at your dining room table with your PC and just kick-off your sneakers!).

    The leggings trend (and, I can even remember them from the first time around; when I’d started school in the late-’80s: the women I had as teachers were, at that point, in their 30s and they WORE STIRRUP PANTS — yikes!) is, at least, an improvement from the way in the early 2000s people were outright wearing FLEECE PAJAMAS in broad public in the U.S.(!). THAT was just gross!

I welcome your opinion. Please leave a comment.